From the Cryptographic Security Platform Vault for Secrets webGUI, select Manage > Manage Boxes.
On the Manage Boxes page, select the box that you want to modify and click Edit.
In the About tab of the Edit Box window, you can update the following:
Option
Description
Description
The optional description of the box.
Secret Versions
The maximum number of a secret's versions to keep before they are deleted. The default is 10, and the maximum is 100.
Secret Expiration
If checked, then you can set the number of days, minutes, or hours before the secret expires. Otherwise there is no expiration date for the secrets.
Click the Checkout Details tab.
In the Checkout Details tab of the Edit Box window, you can update the following:
Option
Description
Secret Checkout Duration
If checked, then you can set a default duration for a secret lease. When set at the box level, it applies to all secrets that are checked out from a box. Otherwise, there is no expiration for checked out secrets and a lease is not created.
Important: If this option is set in a secret, it will override any options that are set in the box.
Exclusive Checkout
If checked, then all secret checkouts will be exclusive and only one user can check out the secret at a time. However, if the checkout lease has expired, then a new checkout will be allowed.
Important: If this option is set in a secret, it will override any options that are set in the box.
Click the Rotation Details tab.
In the Rotation Details tab of the Edit Box window, you can update the following:
Option
Description
Secret Rotation Duration
If checked, then you can set the default duration for when secrets in the box will be rotated.
Important: If this option is set in a secret, it will override any options that are set in the box.
Rotate Secret on Check In
If checked, the secret will be automatically rotated when it is checked in. Requires that the Secret Checkout Duration is configured.
Force Secret Rotation
If checked, it forces the rotation of all secrets in the box.
If Secret Rotation Duration and Force Secret Rotate on Check In are both checked, the secret will be rotated even if there are outstanding leases.
If Rotate on Check In and Force Secret Rotation are both checked, the secret will rotate when the checkout expires.
Important: If this option is set in a secret, it will override any options that are set in the box.
Click Save to save your changes but remain in the wizard, Save and Close to save your changes and close the wizard, or Cancel to close the wizard without saving.